Office Space – real life

Greetings Readers, it’s been a while since I have written, I apologize, I have been deep in the throes of house gutting and rebuilding. It takes a little more time than we had estimated, but it is fun none the less. However, all that dedication leaves me no time to write on the things near to my heart… so I am back.

In 1999 I watched a movie called “Office Space” , a funny little movie and very accurately resembles most offices I have ever worked in..Scarily so.  And lately I have been having a difficult time with my “Day Job” and have begun comparing the likenesses between movies and real life. And in my experience some very accurate depictions.

If you don’t remember the film let me refresh your memory. It’s about Rob who is in a job that is sucking out his soul, day by day. Reeling you in? and Rob has a boss that is trying so hard to deliver bad news under the guise of a cool dude..and no he isn’t successful..Every employee in that office is someone you work with. I guarantee it.

So how does life emulate art and can we learn from the movie? I learned to laugh. At the ridiculousness that is working.. in an office or a school or anywhere you must interact with different personalities and human quirks.  That the façade we put on at work is not even close to the real human at times and yes sometimes you just have to suck it up and find something to get you through, in my case it is the humor of it all. I often think that my life is perfect fodder for an award winning play.. If I could just put it on paper..

I have learned from my lifetime of “office Space” that most often, it is not me that is the problem. it’s not… Okay maybe sometimes it is. a bit. Can I help it if they won’t follow my sage strong advice. always.? No, so it must be them.  But I digress.

Success in Office Space takes time and lots of effort. I try to uncover the strength in each person I work with, I believe all have virtues, you just have to take the time to find it. If you listen, they will tell you everything you need to know.

and now for the humor part. I laugh at myself. yesterday I prepared my leftover hot and sour soup in the microwave and after spilling it all over the microwave, I got it to my desk half a cup remains..I open the credenza to get a napkin, I bump the jar of tums in the process, it topples out and hits the edge of the soup bowl, it goes flying.. all over me, the counter and the floor. and all I can think is I couldn’t do that again if I tried. good thing I had a roll of paper towels at the ready. I soak up the mess on the counter, and begin crawling on my hands and knees to clean the floor ,yes I am wearing a suit jacket and a dress.. once I cleanup the mess I sit down to eat the last 3 tablespoons of soup and settle in to smell like hot/sour soup for the remainder of the day when my teammate pops in an says “have you eaten yet”??

Just another day in the office.

Until Next time,

LJ

Leave a Reply

